Plotting vs. Pantsing

I consider myself more of a plotter than a pantser.

For me, writing out an outline ahead of time is like reading a map to get to a place. I’m one of those people who gets–no IS lost all the time without a map. I don’t think I could even step outside my apartment without one.

In this case, I write the map. Yet it seems to come from somewhere within my subconscious. Wherever the story comes from for the pantser as well, I imagine.

One thing I don’t do is detailed character outlines. I probably should do more than I do. That way I won’t have to scroll back through the work-in-progress to find a minor character’s middle name.

Leave a Reply

